If you’re into astrology, you might’ve heard about the houses in astrology that are associated with the set of traits. You are much more than 10 words sentences describing your fate, that you read in your local newspaper. Your birth chart includes the planets that move and have the most importance. Houses in astrology are a way of segmenting the birth char into 12 sections. Do you wonder what 12 houses in astrology mean? It’s the signs of astrology that show how planets express themselves. So, wanna know more about houses in astrology and how they work? Read on to find out more about houses in astrology and their meanings! 

What are the 12 Houses in Astrology? 

If you’re new to astrology and looking for the meaning of 12 houses in astrology, you are at the right place. Just like a clock, the zodiac is divided into 12 segments or you can say houses. Each of the houses is ruled by a different sign. When an astrologer analyzes your birth chart, they blend the meaning of each planet, the house and the sign. Then, they map the impediments or gifts you’ll face in your life. Your birth chart make so much more sense than you think it does. The houses exemplify different aspects of your life based on the time to and location of your birth. 

Houses in Astrology
Houses in Astrology

Each of the 12 houses represents crucial aspects of your life. You may be interested in knowing about money, relationship, career or health. Mapping the houses can help you find what you are looking for. They can give you valuable insights and all play a major role in determining your personality and life path. Your birth chart is like a snapshot of the sky when you were born. Sounds magical, right? Well, yes it is. The houses are what makes astrology so interesting and spectacular. Since houses rotate all the time, you must use your correct birth time while you calculate your chart. 

12 Houses in Astrology: Explained

So what do these 12 houses exemplify? It is common for most people to know their sun sign and their qualities that are associated with the sign. However, astrology is much more than that, as said earlier. The zodiac is better understood as a sequence of symbols representing the 12 phases. So, what is the meaning of different houses in astrology? Let’s hop onto the meaning of houses in astrology. 

The 1st House in Astrology 

The first house in astrology is ruled by Aries. It begins the zodiac and governs what you look like and how you illustrate yourself to the world. It defines you and represents the body you were born with. The attractive features, physical features, self-image, and strengths are determined by the 1st house in astrology. 

The 2nd House in Astrology 

The 2nd house is related to Taurus energy and is related to your finances, possessions and is all about the idea of value. It also covers self-esteem and the environment you dwell in. It also determines how you value yourself and also material ownership.  

The 3rd House in Astrology 

The 3rd house in astrology is ruled by Gemini. Your attitude, behavior, intellect, and way of communication with different people including your siblings, neighbors, and local network. 

The 4th House in Astrology

The 4th house in Astrology is ruled by Cancer. It symbolizes your roots and home. You get to learn what makes you comfortable, safe, and relaxed. It is also related to the environment that you want to create for yourself. 

The 5th House in Astrology  

This house is ruled by Leo and is all about love affairs, drama, fun, romance, and attention. It is also about having the joy and enthusiasm that a little kid has. The 5th house also incorporates creativity and self-expression. 

The 6th House in Astrology

The 6th house in astrology, which is ruled by mercury, is related to work environment, services, job, colleagues, health, and whatever incorporated in your area’s daily routine and schedule. It sees your physical health and habits. 

The 7th House in Astrology 

The 7th House in Astrology
The 7th House in Astrology 

The 7th house in astrology that depicts marriage, your life partner, business partner, client’s and open enemies and is your partnership with different people in your life. It is ruled by Libra. 

The 8th House in Astrology 

The 8th house in astrology is ruled by Scorpio and portrays death, longevity, birth, inheritance, debts, and sudden events like Lottery (can also incorporate sudden losses). It is completely unrelated yet an important house. 

The 9th House in Astrology 

The 9th house in Astrology is ruled by Sagittarius. So, what does it depict? Well, the 9th house in astrology showcases travel, religion, your beliefs, education, status, and professional experiences. Pretty cool, huh? 

The 10th House in Astrology 

The 10th House in astrology is ruled by Capricorn and depicts your purpose in life and career choice. It is the highest point in your birth chart where you’ll want to be recognized for honors, awards, and popularity. 

The 11th House in Astrology 

The 11th house in astrology is ruled by Aquarius and represents humanitarian concerns like friends, groups, hopes, mass media, and social connectivity which are possessed by fame, name, wealth, and income. It also determines what brings profit to us. 

The 12th House in Astrology 

The 12th House in Astrology
The 12th House in Astrology

Last or the 12th house in astrology is dictated by Pisces and depicts your hidden strengths and weaknesses. It also interprets your suffering, withdrawal, and the divine. It oversees mental and spiritual health. It is a place where unseen things are discovered. This was all about the different houses in Astrology. The 12 houses in astrology depict different meanings about your life and the aspects related to it.  

Also read: Palmistry 101